Student Services

Overview

Services Provided

  • Academic Advising
  • Counseling Services
  • College Assistance
  • Academic Supports
  • Financial Aid
  • Community Outreach
  • Career Outreach
  • Career Assistance
  • Standardized Testing Information

Staff

Tonya Grice | Black Student Achievement Program (BSAP) - Achievement Liaison | tonya_grice@hcpss.org
Sheri Hawes | School Counselor, Ci-Ha | sheri_hawes@hcpss.org
Margaret Jones | School Counselor, Ph-Sm | Margaret_Jones@hcpss.org
James Mackin | Registrar | james_mackin@hcpss.org | 410.313.7412
Cyndy Mercado | Hispanic Achievement Liaison | cyndy_mercado_garcia@hcpss.org
Lori Miller | School Counselor | lori_miller@hcpss.org
Brett Moore | School Counselor, Sn-Z | brett_moore@hcpss.org
Mary Ann Oster | Registrar | mary_oster@hcpss.org
Josephine Quinn | School Counseling Secretary | Josephine_Quinn@hcpss.org
Jennifer Sheppard | School Counselor, A-Ch | Jennifer_Sheppard@hcpss.org
Rosalind Sheppard | School Psychologist, Girls Head Indoor Track, Girls Head Outdoor Track | Rosalind_Sheppard@hcpss.org
Kevin Siliko | School Counselor, He-Lo | kevin_siliko@hcpss.org
Ming Sun | International Achievement Liaison | ming_sun@hcpss.org
Paul Linkins | PPW | paul_linkins@hcpss.org
Stephanie Wallace | Social Worker | stephanie_wallace@hcpss.org
Steven Wright | School Counselor, Lu-Pe | steven_wright@hcpss.org

Accident and Medical Insurance

Accident Insurance

The school system does not carry medical insurance for accidents that occur at school, including non-sport related injuries, such as trips and falls, physical education injuries, and recess/playground injuries. Thus, parents are encouraged to enroll students in the accident insurance program offered through HCPSS.

Learn more about how to obtain accident insurance →

Medical Insurance

The Maryland Children’s Health Insurance Program (MCHIP) is available for families, pregnant women, and children in need of medical insurance. Applications are available through the school health assistant or by contacting the Howard County Health Department at 410-313-7500.

Find out more about qualifying for MCHIP →